The First Day of Christmas: Saint Arnold Sailing Santa

Let’s get this out of the way first: Yes, I am well aware that the First Day of Christmas is December 25, and the Twelve Days culminate on January 4 on the Feast of the Epiphany.  I am starting the Twelve Days today because it is my blog and I set the rules around here.  So you pedants can just climb down from your high horses and cut me some slack.

Sailing Santa by Saint Arnold. Gingerbread House by my niece

Saint Arnold‘s Sailing Santa is a blend of their Elissa IPA and their Christmas Ale.  As both are fine beers in their own right, I expected this to be a good one, and it is a fine drink. It has some nice piney hops, and along with some dark fruit and brown sugar sweetness to it. It had a mild Christmas spiciness to it, with some nutmeg and cinnamon, but that was very muted. This was very smooth and drinkable considering the 8% ABV.  Sailing Santa was quite enjoyable and a worthy brew to kickoff the Twelve Days of Christmas, 7/10.

9 Responses to The First Day of Christmas: Saint Arnold Sailing Santa

  1. Green-Eyed Brat says:

    For my hands on this one last night, fucking teenage clerk carded me when I bought! As if! Anyhow, I’m excited to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

