Flying Fish Exit 8 Chestnut Brown Ale

Is this the best Brown Ale I have ever had? Yep, this is the best Brown Ale I have ever had. I know that sounds like I am damning with faint praise, as I am not a huge fan of Brown Ales, so let me go a little further: This is one of the best beers of 2012. Granted the year is young, but if I have many beers better than this one, it will be one hell of a year for beer.

Exit 8 Chestnut Brown Ale and Elk Steaks

Flying Fish is not available here in Texas, and it is one of the many things I miss about living in New Jersey (along with good pizza, WFMU, and the New Jersey Turnpike, the golden roadway of the East). I was lucky enough to secure a bottle of the recently released Exit 8 Chestnut Brown Ale in a trade with MZ, and all I can say is

HALLELUJAH!

HALLELUJAH!

HALLELUJAH!

This beer is really that damn good. Brewed with chestnuts and honey harvested in New Jersey, both of which are prominent in the aroma and the flavor, and which are balanced by the addition of Chinook hops and some nice warmth from the 8.3% ABV. I paired this with some elk steaks (one of the great things about living in Texas is that I have neighbors who hunt Elk, Moose, Bear, Wild Boar, Deer, etc. and they are quite happy to share their bounty with me) and it was an outstanding match. The Flying Fish Exit Series has been excellent from the get go, and this is a worthy addition to the roster, 9/10.

MZ also included a couple of bottles of the Exit 4 which I reviewed a few years ago. Not much to add to that review, just another outstanding beer from New Jersey’s finest brewery.

One Response to Flying Fish Exit 8 Chestnut Brown Ale

  1. We just had this at a Flying Fish tap take over at Two Stones in Delaware. I thought it was ok, as I do with many of FF’s beers. But there definitely was enough there to want me to get my hands on a bottle for a better look. Tap take overs are bad places to make an concrete statements on the quality of a beer. Great post. Great blog!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

