Utah Makes a Good Double IPA

Here is what I know about Utah: Lots of mountains; Lots of Mormons; and there is a gigantic salt lake out there. I stuck my left foot in Utah when I visited the Four Corners many years ago, and I love SLC PUNK although I have no idea how accurate a portrait it paints of the Salt Lake City Hardcore Punk scene. I read Jon Krakauer’s Under The Banner of Heaven, and while the book is set in Utah in part, poor white folks in the mountains are similar, whether those mountains are in Utah or West Virginia or Passaic County (home of the Jackson Whites). And my friend BB lived in Utah, although he got out at the earliest opportunity.

That’s it. That’s all I got. Or rather, that’s all I had until I stumbled upon the Squatters Hop Rising Double IPA, brewed by the Utah Brewers Cooperative.

This excellent beer is somewhat malt forward at first for a Double IPA, with the tangy pine hops asserting themselves towards the end. As you can see, it pours a beautiful cloudy burnt orange color with a fluffy white head, which is retained for the entire glass.  The 9% ABV is well hidden by this beer’s smooth taste. Highly recommended, 7.5/10.

One Response to Utah Makes a Good Double IPA

  1. Green-Eyed Brat says:

    I like SLC Punk and this beer as well. I concurr. Good job!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

