Victory Headwaters Pale Ale

I am genuinely surprised that I have not already reviewed Victory’s Headwaters Pale Ale, as it has become something of a ‘go to’ beer for me over the past year or so. It is not a groundbreaker in any way. It does not push the limits of what can be defined as beer. It does not redefine the pale ale genre. It does not make me see visions of comely wenches lounging languidly as I drink and guffaw in my Falstaffian glory, and yes, there are some beers that do that. Frankly, it is not even my favorite pale ale, as the Sierra Nevada Pale Ale is still my number one pale ale.

It may not be any of those things, but it is still a damn fine beer. The hops are assertive without being overpowering, and there is some malty sweetness on the back end to make this a nicely balanced beer. It is dry, crisp and refreshing, not heavy at all, and at 5.1 % ABV is an excellent session beer. This is the type of beer I would give to a beer neophyte in order to introduce them to the world of good beer, and yet is good enough to give to beer snobs, as I did with GEB a few weeks ago. Yet another fine offering from Victory, 7.5/10.

4 Responses to Victory Headwaters Pale Ale

  1. [...] Victory Headwater Pale Ale (tiltingsuds.wordpress.com) [...]

  2. Green-Eyed Brat says:

    Whoa! You gave me some of this beer? When? Where? Was it that magical baseball night where Matt Cain pitched a perfect game..?!?? The same night I was caught cheating on the Holy Grail with the Gingerman?

    • seanrude says:

      No, it was the night of the lame ass wine walk at Fairview Village when we went to Whole Foods for Pizza and Beer. We grabbed a six of this and drank it surreptitiously on the WF patio

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

