Life and Limb: Sierra Nevada and Dogfish Head Get Together and Brew a Fine Beer

Collaborations are all the rage in the Craft Beer World. The idea is two or more brewers get together and bring their complementary talents together to collectively brew a beer that they could not individually brew. If the collaboration works they way it is hoped, the whole will be greater than the sum of the parts.

In my experience, collaborations rarely work that well. They are almost always good beers, and some of them are quite excellent, but I almost never say, “This is a beer that could only be made by these brewers working together.” The one exception to this was Fritz & Ken’s Thirtieth Anniversary Ale, a collaboration between Sierra Nevada and Anchor Brewing, that might well be the best beer I have ever had.

Life & Limb

Life & Limb, the collaboration between Sierra Nevada and Dogfish Head (two of my favorite brewers) does not reach the lofty heights of the Sierra Nevada-Anchor collaboration, but it is still pretty damn good. As you can see, it pours a deep mahogany color with some ruby highlights and a nice tan head. There are dried fruit notes in the flavor, mainly raisin and dark bitter cherries, along with chocolate, vanilla, and maple syrup flavors, with a touch of oak. There is also a mild birch beer aftertaste, which those of you from the northeast will recognise. I know that sounds like it would be too sweet, but it really was not at all. There is the warmth from the 10 % ABV and just enough bitterness from the hops to offset the sweetness. Do I think that neither Sierra Nevada nor Dogfish Head could have produced this beer on their own? I won’t go that far, but it ranks in the upper tier of collaborations, that is for certain.

I wish I had another bottle of this to hide in the back of the fridge, as I think it would age well, but I did not have the foresight to pick up more than a single bottle. I am quite happy that I grabbed this one, 8.5/10.

4 Responses to Life and Limb: Sierra Nevada and Dogfish Head Get Together and Brew a Fine Beer

  1. Green-Eyed Brat says:

    Dude! I had this beer MONTHS ago!!! How can you be my beer God of you behind on the game!!! Shape up or ship out damn it!!!!

  2. bladdamasta says:

    Wow, sounds bloody good. I take your point about whether collaborations are necessary or a marketing exercise. However, it’s not like either brewer needs eachother’s endorsement? Enjoy the long weekend.

  3. 1x1head says:

    good stuff, bro. bought 4b btls, have one left and drinkin it on vaca in Co.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

