Shite and Onions: Bud Light Lime-A-Rita

I have been drinking beer for over thirty years now. As you know from even the most casual stroll through this blog, I drink all kinds of beer. Before I drank beer, I drank sodas, fruit juices, milk shakes, chocolate milk, strawberry milk, whole milk, low-fat milk, skim milk. I drink water, both bottled and tap, still and sparkling. As a kid, I drank Kool-Aid. I drink coffee almost every day, tea occasionally (both hot and iced). I have had my fair share of wine and cocktails over the years, with both top shelf stuff and the rotgut they put in the well. I have consumed liquids of all kinds, both fermented and non-fermented, distilled and non-distilled, sweet and savory. I cannot say I have liked them all, although my palate has become more refined as I have aged. My point is that I have tasted a wide array of drinks.

Absolutely Fucking Disgusting

In a lifetime of consuming drinks of various kinds, this is by far the most foul tasting liquid I have ever tasted.  The only way to describe the Bud Light Lime-A-Rita is that it tastes like a fizzy Gatorade, with salt, lime, and alcohol added, and then that vile mixture is strained through a sweaty ballcap. There is a whiff of uric acid too, and I really do not want to think about how that got in to the mix. While I can describe the mix of flavors and odors, I lack the words to describe how truly awful this tastes. I had it ice cold, and served it to myself in a frosty mug, and it still made me gag.

I don’t know who is drinking this shit. I imagine the target market is guys with mullets and cut off tees, and maybe sorority girls at the second tier sate universities scattered across the south, but that is just a guess.

The sad thing is that Anheuser-Busch probably moves mores units of this crap in a month than most craft brewers move in a year. I weep for my country.

One Response to Shite and Onions: Bud Light Lime-A-Rita

  1. […] Shite and Onions: Bud Light Lime-A-Rita (tiltingsuds.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

