Summer’s Here and The Time is Right for Drinking in The Streets: Oskar Blues Mama’s Little Yella Pils and Victory Prima Pils

What a drag it is getting old…

Mama’s Little Yella Pils from Oskar Blues is a crisp pilsner, slightly fruity smelling, mildly herbal and grassy tasting, with a pale yellow color and a quickly dissipating foamy white head. It pours crystal clear, and has a mild lemon zest flavor, with an aftertaste of mildly toasted grains. This is not a hop bomb, but no pilsners can make that claim. I popped this open after a run in the Florida sun and enjoyed this refreshing beer immensely, 7.5/10.

Prima Pils from the always excellent Victory Brewing is a bit different from the usual pilsner. Remember when I said that no pilsners can claim to be hop bombs? The Prima Pils almost makes a liar of me, as it is more aggressively hopped than is the norm for a pilsner. Beer purists probably object to this, because it fails to adhere to the standards set forth by the Great Beer Council of 1512, but I am ok with it. The flavor starts off mild and herbal before the grapefruit zest and black pepper hops kick in on the back end. I am not saying this a hop bomb beer, but it is certainly a hop bomb pilsner, making the Prima Pils a pilsner for IPA lovers. The 5.3% ABV is low enough to make this a good session beer. This is not the standard to compare other pilsners to, as it quite different, but it is delicious, 7.5/10.

Keely Smith’s Favorite Beer

9 Responses to Summer’s Here and The Time is Right for Drinking in The Streets: Oskar Blues Mama’s Little Yella Pils and Victory Prima Pils

  1. Green-Eyed Brat says:

    I’m delighted to see that you decided to post in lieu of harassing me which seems like your most favorite thing to do these days. Although your “make the sex” on me emails do make me giggle but the “oh wow you’re at the Grail again…?!?” comments are totally annoying and always make me roll my eyes.

  2. jpendress says:

    I am a big fan of the Little Yella (I like it in the can) – great beer for the summertime. I would rate it even higher than 7.5.

  3. Mark says:

    I’ve had many a prima pils over the years, but I always feel like it’s a completely different beer in the bottle versus on tap. And the bottle is better! That aggressive hop character seems to get lost on tap for some reason…

    • seanrude says:

      I have never had it on tap. In fact I have always stayed away from it, because I am hophead, and pilsners usually don’t scratch that itch. I will no longer make that mistake, but will take your word on the tap vs. bottle differences.

  4. bladdamasta says:

    We are getting a few varieties of Victory out here. I tried that Prima Pils recently. Outstanding. What does it cost you a stubbie? We aren’t getting the benefits of the strong Aussie Dollar on beer imports. $7 a stubbie here.

    • seanrude says:

      The Prima Pils runs about $8.99 a six pack, and I think I paid $1.79 for the single bottle.

      If you see the Victory Wild Devil grab it. That is their Hop Devil IPA pitched with wild yeast. It is packaged in bomber bottles, usually runs about $8.99 a bottle here, but well worth it. FOr that matter, the Hop Devil is worth knocking back as well.

      I admit I had to find an Aussie Slang Dictionary online to look up “stubbie”. I could guess the meaning from context, but I wanted to be sure.

      The dollar amounts are Yankee dollars.

  5. [...] Summer’s Here and The Time is Right for Drinking in The Streets: Oskar Blues Mama’s Litt… (tiltingsuds.wordpress.com) [...]

  6. 1x1head says:

    damn, isn’t mamas lil yellow pils the best pilsner evah. drank the piss outta of it in salida a week or so ago. I bought mama a lil yellow truckers cap it was so fckin good.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

