And Certain Stars Shot Madly From Their Spheres, To Hear The Sea-Maid’s Music: Bell’s Oberon Ale

I know a bank where the wild thyme blows,
Where oxlips and the nodding violet grows,
Quite over-canopied with luscious woodbine,
With sweet musk-roses and with eglantine.

Michigan’s Bell’s Brewery has a fine reputation, and I have been impressed with the few Bell’s beers that I have stumbled upon, so I was quite excited when I saw a lone bottle of their summer beer, Oberon Ale, sitting on the shelf. The Oberon Ale pours a hazy orange, with little bits of detritus floating throughout the beer, and that is almost always a good sign. It seemed to glow, as if it was ill met by moonlight. It has a wonderful bread, orange rind, and floral aroma, each of which carries over to the flavor. The wheat malts are up front and prominent and somewhat creamy, reminiscent of a hefeweizen, but without the banana and clove flavors I associate with that style. I could drink this all day, 8/10, and would except I think I had the last bottle in South Florida, as I have not seen any since this bottle called out to me like a mermaid, on a dolphin’s back, Uttering such dulcet and harmonious breath, That the rude sea grew civil at her song.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

