Moa Imperial Stout

I can never be certain about these things, because so much has been lost in the haze of alcohol, old age, bad TV and sleepless nights, but I believe that Moa Brewing Co.’s Imperial Stout is the first beer from New Zealand that I have drunk (Drank? Imbibed? Howzabout ‘knocked back’?). It is certainly the first beer from New Zealand that has been reviewed here at Tilting Suds. Of that, there is no question.

I never liked Split Enz, but I like this beer. Might be a time for a critical reassessment of Split Enz

I never liked Split Enz, but I like this beer. Might be a time for a critical reassessment of Split Enz

And for a first beer from New Zealand, I picked a good one. The Moa Imperial Stout is aged in Pinot Noir barrels, and the oak from the barrels is the first thing I picked up in the aroma. The beer poured an inky black with ruby highlights, with a quickly dissipating head. Normally Imperial Stouts are heavy in taste and texture, but his beer had a delicate mouthfeel, and the flavors (oak, coffee, cocoa, vanilla) were also muted, as was the 10% ABV. I did not pick up any Pinot Noir notes, but then again, I am such a wine barbarian that I cannot tell a Pinot Noir from a fucking Merlot. Let’s just say that if there were any red wine notes here at all, I missed them. Let’s also say that my first Kiwi beer adventure was an enjoyable one, 7.5/10.

3 Responses to Moa Imperial Stout

  1. bladdamasta says:

    It’s a ripper and we can get it on tap at some of the better bars here in Sydney (though that’s pretty rare). For a craft brewer in NZ, they have spread their wings mighty wide. Totally expected that they’d get to Australia – but Texas, the UK and beyond. Amazing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

