Smuttynose Baltic Porter

New Hampshire’s Smuttynose is one of my favorite breweries.  They are traditionalists.  Smuttynose does not push the envelope with their beers (unlike DogfishHead for example).  They brew traditional styles, and they do those styles very well.  Smuttynose is widely available in New Jersey, usually on the lower end of the price scale when it comes to craft beers, and the worst Smuttynose beer is pretty damn good.

Case in point is the Smuttynose Baltic Porter.  Porter is a style of beer that I have always thought of as being the kid brother to stouts, which is more a reflection of my idiocy than reality.  Porters and stouts are different styles, and I will need to explore those differences in the future.  This porter had hints of chocolate, coffee and dried fruit.  This one gets an 8/10.

4 Responses to Smuttynose Baltic Porter

  1. Tyler says:

    Probably in my top 3 favorite beers of all time. Nice to see an east coast brew represented in your neck of the woods. Great blog, started my own last week. Take care.

  2. seanrude says:

    I am as East Coast as they come, a Jersey Guy born and raised. Where are you from?

    • Tyler says:

      Oh sorry, I had thought given some of your other reviews, you were out in California or Oregon. I’m a NH native myself, so I’m lucky enough to find Smuttynose pretty cheap. On the other hand, NH liquor laws are pretty strict and finding out of state microbrews can be frustrating. Good blog man.

  3. […] Big IPA Smuttynose Brewing Co. is a Tilting Suds favorite, and they have hit yet another home run with the Big IPA, their version of an Imperial IPA.  This […]

Leave a Reply

