Dogfish Head Squall IPA

Dogfish Head is one bad ass brewery.  Located in Delaware, Dogfish Head continually pushes the boundaries of beer, while at the same time being respectful of brewing traditions.  I love these guys, and will try any of their beers without hesitation.

The Squall IPA came out last spring.  If you see any bottles at your local beer emporium, grab them, because this a tasty treat.  This Imperial IPA is super hoppy, and packs a 9% ABV. Very fragrant, very dry, and even with that high alcohol content, this drank very easily.    I had this with some friends at a boy’s weekend in Vermont, and this was easily the standout beer of the weekend.  Sure it led to us shooting off bb guns and grilling up some steaks, but what is wrong with that?  A solid 9/10.

6 Responses to Dogfish Head Squall IPA

  1. sTevo says:

    Dogfish Head is my favorite too.

  2. Daniel says:

    I just reviewed the Squall and was curious about what others thought. Any beer that leads to steaks and BB guns is okay in my book.

    This just might be my favorite Dogfish beer. I don’t know if they’ve changed the 90-minute recipe or if it’s my tastes that have changed, but I feel like it is almost malt-forward and the hops aren’t as dominant as they used to be. Though I grabbed an aged bottled of the Squall, it gave me back those hops I loved so much.

  3. seanrude says:

    I just read someplace (I cannot recall where) that the 2010 Squall will be out in late April. I am not sure whether it is the same recipe or whether it will be tweaked some. Either way, I am looking forward to it.

  4. Daniel says:

    Hey Sean,

    You’re right that the Squall will be out in April (it was supposed to be in March). I can’t wait to pick up another one to try it when it’s fresh.

    Daniel

  5. […] Union to SE), I am going to give a quick review of the Aprihop from Dogfish Head.  As you already know, Dogfish Head is one of my favorite brewers, and they have lined up another winner with this spring […]

Leave a Reply

