The Bars of My Life: The Fort George Brewery, Astoria, Oregon

Sorry about the crappy cell phone pic

I have previously written about my trip to Oregon here, but I want to revisit the trip one more time to discuss the Fort George Brewery. Astoria, Oregon is a couple of hours north of Portland.  It is a quaint town on the water.  We wandered around and came upon the Fort George Brewery.  The brewpub is located in an old Ford dealership and has an industrial look to it.  BB, JPE and I grabbed a table and ordered up some beers and food.

I had the Vortex IPA.  I did not take notes (my beer dorkiness had not fully bloomed at that time) so I cannot give you any tasting notes.  All I can say is that I had one sip and knew that I was in the presence of greatness. The one thing I clearly remember about this beer is that it had a creamy mouthfeel.  The jar on the right in the picture that serves as the masthead of this blog is the Vortex IPA.  I remember having a pale ale as well, and the picture above looks like a stout or a porter, though I must confess that I do not recall which.  The hot sauce in the picture is made by a local kid who started bottling it and selling it to local businesses.  Good stuff.

We were getting ready to leave when I noticed that they had some guest beers, including Russian River’s Pliny the Elder.  I had heard of Pliny the Elder, but being an East Coast guy, I had never actually seen any.  I whined, stamped my feet, and threw a temper tantrum until I was allowed to try it.  Again, I have no tasting notes, but I do remember loving this beer.

BB has since moved from Portland, and as far as I can recall I do not know anybody in Astoria, or Oregon for that matter, but if the opportunity arose, I’d move to Astoria in a New York Minute just to be close to the Fort George Brewery.

Leave a Reply

