Dogfish Head Raison D’Etre

If you like your beers malty and spicy, this offering from Dogfish Head is right up your alley.  The Raison D’Etre pours a mildly cloudy dark copper color with a minimal head and a thin mouth feel.  This beer is brewed with green raisins, beet sugars and Belgian yeast.  I picked up the raisin flavor, and the complexity that comes with using Belgian yeast was there as well, with hints of coriander and cardamon, but I did not detect any distinct flavor from the beet sugar.  I am docking it a half point because it was a touch too malty for me, but don’t let that deter you from giving it a tipple.  6/10.

4 Responses to Dogfish Head Raison D’Etre

  1. JaPE says:

    Waiting on your Aprihop review . And may I suggest adding an ABV% in your write ups?

  2. seanrude says:

    You may make that suggestion, and I have done so in the past. I liked the Aprihop last time I had it, and it should be hitting the shelves soon, if it has not already hit them.

  3. […] Head Aprihop At the request of JPE, I am going to give a quick review of the Aprihop from Dogfish Head.  As you already know, Dogfish […]

  4. […] Head Indian Brown Ale We return to the Lords of Delaware, Dogfish Head, and sample their Indian Brown Ale.  This beer has some sweet caramel and brown […]

Leave a Reply

