Lagunitas Wilco Tango Foxtrot

I am trying to think of a more overrated band than Wilco, and the only one I can come up with is Radiohead.  I actually kind of like both bands, but I do not understand the fervor Wilco and Radiohead have amongst their respective fanbases.  Both bands are ok, but whenever I hear how Wilco/Radiohead is ‘pushing the boundaries of what popular music sounds like and ushering in a new age of something somethng something’ I tend to nod off and hum ‘Rocks Off’ to myself.  If I had to choose one over the other, I would probably pick Wilco over Radiohead, mainly because Radiohead sound cold and mechanical to my ears.  I realize that the ‘cold, mechanical sound is probably a grand artistic statement about the alienation of modern man from the culture around him blah blah blah’, but cold and mechanical is cold and mechanical.  As for Wilco, on the one hand, Jeff Tweedy comes across as an unbearable twat in I Am Trying to Break Your Heart; On the plus side of the ledger for Wilco, Tweedy was one of the songwriters for Uncle Tupelo, one of the great bands of the last twenty five years. Then again, Uncle Tupelo broke up.  Which band do I find more annoying?  I am going to hold off on this decision.***

On to the beer:  Wilco Tango Foxtrot is described by Lagunitas as an Imperial Brown Ale, and I won’t argue with that designation.  It had a mild cocoa aroma and flavor, with some traces of coffee in the malt as well, nicely balanced by some assertive herbal hops. The beer had a peaty aftertaste that was quite pleasant, and which masked the 7.8% ABV.  JK thought it was the best beer of our recent weekend.  I am not going to go that far, but it gets a solid 8/10.

*** Itunes tells me that I listen to Wilco more than Radiohead, but that I listen to Kid A more than Yankee Hotel Foxtrot.  The jury is still out on this one.  I will revisit this important question when Lagunitas releases the Paranoid Android Ale.

6 Responses to Lagunitas Wilco Tango Foxtrot

  1. Sean says:

    Going to see Wilco Friday night. Billed as a night with Wilco, the band has been pulling out all kinds of fun and rare tunes for these long shows. In my opinion, they are among the best live bands in the world. You have to see them live to truly appreciate them.

  2. john koehne says:

    not the lagunitas we had or at least not the one i commented on. that one was cittusy. anyway, the site is cool. keep up the good work

  3. seanrude says:

    We did have this one. That photo is taken in your kitchen, and you loved it. We may have had the Hop Stoopid also, which is a hoppy mofo

  4. teener says:

    Well, I loved Uncle Tupelo. I swore they broke up because I followed them too much, literally all over the country. Old Wilco stuff was classic, not overproduced and flowery or ethereal. If they start putting out beer, I’m throwing in the towel. Great job on the site too!

  5. seanrude says:

    and your thoughts on Radiohead?

Leave a Reply

