A Stout Weekend

Despite it being the warmest weekend of this young year, when my thoughts usually turn to hefeweizens and saisons, I grabbed a few different stouts this weekend.  I chose one stout billed as having a coffee flavor, and one with a chocolate taste.

First up was the Coffee Stout, part of the Brewer’s Reserve Series from Vermont’s Long Trail Brewing Company.  There was absolutely no head at all on this deep, dark pour.  Although this is brewed using Vermont Coffee Company Dark Roast coffee beans, specially roasted for Long Trail, the first thing I noticed in the aroma and the taste was chocolate.  There was a slight coffee aftertaste on this, which as it warmed tasted somewhat like cola.  This was a smooth drinking beer even with an 8% ABV.  I give it a 6.5/10.

The Dragonstooth Stout from Elysian Brewing is brewed with rolled oats, roasted barley and chocolate malts, with centennial and cascade hops to give it some bite.  The first thing I noticed on this beer was the taste of dark coffee, with a hint of cocoa in the background, along with some smoke.  The hops are prominent in the aftertaste.  This poured with a frothy cappuccino colored head, which lasted to the bottom of the glass.  Not as smooth as the Coffee Stout, but I liked the hoppy bitterness.  7/10.

To sum up, the Coffee Stout tasted chocolatey to me, and the chocolate stout tasted like coffee.  There is a good chance that I have no idea what I am talking about.

Leave a Reply

