Weyerbacher Unfiltered Double Simcoe IPA

In my Garden of Eden, there would be a few things I’d absolutely require.  My two dogs would be there with me, and my nieces could come and visit them anytime.  There would be a perpetual barbecue pit going, and a never-ending supply of brisket, pork shoulder, ribs, and lamb shoulders would always be just ready to come out of the smoke, along with a few chickens when I feel like dining light.  Apple would make a 160 gig Ipod Touch for me, so I could have all of my music, plus the web surfing capability of the Touch.  There would be a small library with enough books to keep me occupied.  Scarlett Johannson and Chan Marshall would be in a perpetual cat fight over me, and Christina Hendricks would pop in every so often just to see how I was doing.   Finally, instead of a river of crystal clear water, there would be several babbling brooks of good beers that I could dip my mug in and savor at my heart’s delight.  Remember Augustus Gloop and the River of Chocolate? It would be like that, except beer instead of chocolate, and there would be no pain in the tucchus Wonka to gripe about me contaminating the river.

One of those brooks would be an Imperial IPA, and the Weyerbacher Unfiltered Double Simcoe IPA is a candidate to be the beer bouncing over the rocks.  This poured a hazy deep burnt orange with a sticky head.  Some mango and pine on the aroma, but the hops taste was a blast of pineapple, with a good malty undercurrent to balance it out.  The 9% ABV is prominent in the nose and the taste.  This may not be the one to make it to the Garden of Eden, I have more beers to sample before I make that decision, but it is a good one, 8/10, and I hope there are at least a couple of kegs of this in Purgatory.

One Response to Weyerbacher Unfiltered Double Simcoe IPA

  1. That looks like a tasty beverage!

Leave a comment