Dogfish Head Punkin Ale

I am usually not a fan of pumpkin ales.  In my experience they tend to try to taste like pumpkin pie too much, and the nutmeg, cinnamon and allspice flavors tend to overwhelm everything else going on in the beer.  Dogfish Head avoids that trap by muting the spices (which is unusual for DFH), adding some coffee and cardamon to the flavor profile, and playing up the brown sugar flavors.  It is a bit sweet for my palate, but not cloyingly so.  This is not a beer I am going to reach for very often, but it will serve as my Halloween beer, 6/10.

5 Responses to Dogfish Head Punkin Ale

  1. john koehne says:

    cloyingly ? had to look that one up !!!! good to finally see a review

  2. This beer was delicious. It is actually my favorite fall time beer. It’s like slutty Halloween costume party in a cup and I LOOOOOVVEEE Halloween, especially slutty costumes. I will agree that this beer is a tad sweet but I love it just the same…then again my guilty pleasure that I would never admit to is Ace, so what in the hell do I know?!?

    BTW…have we stopped or Sunday afternoon beer outings?!?!? If so, why in the hell did we do that?!?

    • seanrude says:

      It is not that we have stopped them so much as the past few sundays I have either been tied up or in the case of this past sunday, sick as the proverbial dog. I felt t coming on Saturday, dosed myself up with plenty of Nyquil before going to bed, all to no avail. I woke on Sunday feeling like hammered shit, and that is no way for a person to feel.

      Of course, if you promise to wear a slutty Halloween costume (Would it kill you to show some cleavage? You have twin gifts from God that should be shared) we are back on with guns blazing

  3. [...] pumpkin pie, so they tend to be sweet and loaded with nutmeg, cinnamon, brown sugar and cloves.  Dogfish Head makes a good (but not great) pumpkin beer, and they manage it by being subtle with the flavor profile and muting those spice flavors, which [...]

  4. [...] pumpkin pie, so they tend to be sweet and loaded with nutmeg, cinnamon, brown sugar and cloves.  Dogfish Head makes a good (but not great) pumpkin (Read more…) General ← Three Reviews of Cigar City Humidor Series: Cedar Aged Jai [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

