Ska Brewing Co.

I was a huge Specials fan when I was a kid.  Still am in fact, and I still love all of those old Two Tone Bands so when I came across Ska Brewing Co.’s beers, with their obvious homage to the iconography of the record label, I had to give them a try.  It was the marketing that made me pull their beer off the shelf the first time, and while it worked with me, how many middle aged beer dorks are there who are also music geeks specializing in British Post-Punk Music of the Thatcher Years? In any event, while it was the packaging that first caught my eye, it is the quality of their brew that keeps me going back to them.

The Modus Hoperandi (Great name!) is a hop bomb extraordinaire with massive amounts of piney hops in the nose and the taste, a rich amber color with a white head, 6.8% ABV and a thick chewy mouthfeel to boot.  I love this beer, 8.5/10.

The Decadent Imperial IPA is a boozier version of the Modus Hoperandi with some spice and sweetness added to it.  I noticed the 10.0 % ABV immediately upon opening the bottle.  The alcohol is that strong on this one, but it is tempered by the flowery hops, both of which carry over to the flavor.  I liked it, but not as much as the Modus Hoperandi, 7/10

4 Responses to Ska Brewing Co.

  1. DaveT says:

    “How many middle aged beer dorks are there who are also music geeks specializing in British Post-Punk Music of the Thatcher Years?”

    Well–I guess now we know there’s at least 4 of us! Keep up the good work SeanRude!
    Dave

  2. sirak98 says:

    Is Modus here in the metroplex? Santa might want to leave that laying around for the elves to sip on.

  3. […] Sierra Nevada Makes A ‘Meh’ Beer I am a huge Sierra Nevada fan, and was beyond excited to see this on the shelf at my local beer emporium, but the Sierra Nevada Hoptimum falls short in a number of ways.  First of all, the name:  Sierra Nevada usually does not use puns when naming their beers, preferring to use simple descriptions like ‘Pale Ale’ or ‘Stout’.  This is the first pun I can recall them using, and let’s be honest, it is sort of lame, not punny at all.  It is certainly no ‘Modus Hoperandi‘. […]

Leave a Reply

