Laughing Dog: Rocket Dog Rye IPA and Devil Dog Imperial IPA

Time for a couple of IPAs from the usually excellent Laughing Dog Brewery out of Idaho: First up is the Rocket Dog Rye IPA. This looked beautiful in the glass, with a robust color and head like a lemon meringue pie from the the Tick Tock Diner. The aroma was great too, with lots of hops and rye wafting through the room. Sadly, my excitement was tempered by my first sip. It had a strange oily consistency and an off-putting metallic aftertaste. I finished the bottle, hoping against hope it would improve as it breathed, but it was not to be. I suspect this may have been a bad bottle, so I may give this another shot in the future, 4/10.

The Devil Dog Imperial IPA, on the other hand, is what I have come to expect from Laughing Dog. It pours a cloudy golden orange, with a big head that settled down some, but with enough tight lacing on the side of the glass to keep it going. The hops were zesty orange and lemony, with some faint coriander in the background. The malty sweetness balanced the whopping 10% ABV. I enjoyed this immensely, 8/10.

5 Responses to Laughing Dog: Rocket Dog Rye IPA and Devil Dog Imperial IPA

  1. bladdamasta says:

    Idaho? Have you drink the 50 states?

    • seanrude says:

      I certainly have not reviewed the 50 states, and probably have not drunk the 50 either. Some of the southern states ( I am looking at you Alabama and Mississippi) have only recently relaxed their laws enough to allow for microbreweries.

      However, that is a good goal.

  2. jdstripes says:

    Devil Dog has amazing balance and has been my favorite IPA since finding it in the grocery about two years ago. Hence, I was a bit disappointed that none was available when I made my first visit to Laughing Dog Brewery yesterday. This disappointment, however, quickly vanished when I tried Rocket Dog, and was able to buy more to take home. I get none of the “metallic” taste that you found. The aroma is as you describe, and I found the taste to have nice full hops with a citrus finish. When I left some in the glass long enough to warm to room temperature, it had a coffee flavor.

    Worth noting: my bottles have a different label than in your photo. My bottles also are stamped with the date 3.26.12, so it is certainly a different batch than you sampled. You might want to give it another try.

    I give both beers 9/10.

    • seanrude says:

      I noticed that the new labels. I really think I got a bad batch and/or an old bottle that had been improperly stored. I am a fan of Laughing Dog, but the bottle I had was just plain nasty. I will try it again based on your recommendation.

  3. […] I recently reviewed Laughing Dog’s Rocket Dog Rye IPA,and told all of you how disappointing it was.  This was quite a let down for me as I am usually impressed with Laughing Dog’s brews, and am especially happy with their IPAs. In fact, I was so unhappy with the beer that I said in my review that it may have been a bad bottle, either old or improperly stored or both. Someone commented that he had recently tried the Rocket Dog and loved it, but that his bottle had  a different label, lending some credence to my suspicion that I had the misfortune to get a bad bottle. The New and Improved Rocket Dog Rye IPA! […]

Leave a Reply

