Southern Star Le Mort Vivant

As I have the most sophisticated readership of any beer blog on the net, I won’t bother explaining why Southern Star named their recent seasonal Le Mort Vivant. You have all already concluded that it is an obvious homage to the 1912 French film of the same name, and I do not want to get bogged down in the semiotic minutiae implied therein, and let’s not even get started on the hermeneutic inferences that any sentient being would draw.*

The Le Mort Vivant poured a deep orange with a sour apple and dried fruit aroma. There was a slight head on the initial pour, but it vanished quickly. It had that funky yeast taste that is the hallmark of Belgian style beers. There was some warmth from the alcohol and a toffee aftertaste. This is a change of pace from Southern Star’s other beers. I did not love it, but I did not hate it either, 6/10.

*I have no fucking idea what I am talking about.

Leave a Reply

