Jester King Noble King Hoppy Farmhouse Ale

Yet another outstanding beer from Jester King, The Noble King Hoppy Farmhouse Ale tastes of green apples, clear spring days, freshly cut grass and Magnolia trees in bloom. Actually, a day like that would be awful for me, as I’d be laid up sneezing and coughing and my eyes would be red, itchy and alternating between dried out and watery, but I imagine that a day like that would be great if I did not get hay fever, and this beer is as great as a day like that should be. What the hell, let’s add some unicorns and wood nymphs to the mix while we are at it, because this beer is that good.

It is a hazy orange amber color, with a fluffy head, and some aggressive lacing running up the side of the glass. The Noble King is very hop forward, with the farmhouse yeast bringing a wild earthiness to the aroma and the taste. This finishes dry and crisp, with a tart fruity aftertaste and a velvety mouthfeel. Excellent beer, 8.5/10. I know Texas is rarely mentioned as a hot spot of the American Craft Beer Culture, but I consider myself lucky to be able to drink the beers of the mighty Jester King.

6 Responses to Jester King Noble King Hoppy Farmhouse Ale

  1. jpe says:

    That sounds outstanding.

    • seanrude says:

      It really is. I had one Jester King beer that was a miss, but everything else has been great. Check out their labels. As an artsy design guy, I think you’d appreciate them

      • jpe says:

        The labels are all superb. My favorite is the Wytchmaker. Plus it is a brilliant name for the Rye IPA given the idea that Salem witches may have not actually been real witches, but only acting strangely (and presumably witch-like) due to bad rye bread.

        (and why doesn’t my fucking gravitar work!)

      • seanrude says:

        I am partial to the Black Metal Stout label, but you know about my love of Norwegian Death Metal.

        The Salem Witches MAY NOT have been real witches? I am going to go way out on a limb and state definitively that they were not real witches.

        I have heard that rye theory. There is also a theory that the witch trials were really over property title disputes, and that declaring your opponent a witch was a quick and easy way to get clear title.

        I have no idea why your gravatar is not working. I will refer it to my IT department.

  2. David Ivey says:

    Hey, that makes me want to travel to Texas soon? Great review. I do like that way the graphic artist played with the use of hops imagery in creating the lion on the label.

    David Ivey
    Black Bucket Brew Inbox Magazine Editor

Leave a Reply

