Brooklyn East India Pale Ale

When I was a kid growing up in New Jersey, Brooklyn was always a Borough Too Far. My dad worked in Manhattan (he even had an office in the Empire State Building for a few years) so I went to the ‘City’ (as we called it) every so often, and when I got older, it was always Manhattan I went to for record buying or weed scoring expeditions. Bronx is the home of the Yankees and Queens is the home of the Mets, and as my grandfather was a big baseball fan, he’d take me to those boroughs to see games. Even lowly Staten Island got a visit now and then via a trip on the Staten Island Ferry (Still the best tourist bargain in America. How can you beat a free boat ride through New York Harbor?). But Brooklyn was the one borough I never really visited. There were no baseball teams, the Dodgers having left for Los Angeles long before I was born. My dad did not work there. The Ferry did not go there. And while I am sure I could have scored some sweet records and good weed in Brooklyn, I had to pass through Manhattan to get there, where I could score the same, so why bother?

Consequently, I never got to know Brooklyn well, and even in recent years, when Brooklyn became the epicenter of hipster culture, making the formerly decrepit neighborhoods of the borough must visit places if you wanted to see certain bands, I tried to limit my time there. I found it too easy to end up in the wrong neighborhood, and just never felt as comfortable there as I did in Manhattan. I tried to remedy that by taking a few bike tours around Brooklyn with the Vinman, but  we got hopelessly lost each time, which confirmed my impulse to avoid the borough.

I may avoid going to Brooklyn, but I don’t avoid the beers from Brooklyn Brewery. (Holy Cow, that transition was smoooooooooooooth!) Brooklyn Brewing is one of the more consistent brewers out there, always turning out quality beers. The East India Pale Ale is no exception to that rule. Sweet maltiness is offset by a mild and pleasant bitterness and a crisp, clean and dry finish. This is not a hop bomb IPA, but is a well rounded, refreshing, and easy drinking beer, 7/10.

3 Responses to Brooklyn East India Pale Ale

  1. jpe says:

    Last time someone dragged me to Brooklyn, I put them on the train going the wrong direction at 2am, but did manage to score for some hotdogs when we made it back to the WTC PATH. Can you get the Pennant Ale down there? Like to see your take on that compared to this – I enjoy both.

    • seanrude says:

      Funny story. I went to Brooklyn once with this guy to see band. We got on a train going the wrong way after the show. It was about 2 am.

      Yeah, the Pennant Pale Ale is available. I will grab some and review.

  2. jkoehne says:

    Brooklyn is over rated. You can get better beer joints and kraut food in manhattan but it does have some interesting entries of botth establishments although, as Sean said, “why go if you’re already in manhattan ?”

Leave a Reply

