Christmas in April: Troegs Mad Elf Christmas Ale

Another beer received from MZ, and another good one. I have tried the Troegs Mad Elf Christmas Ale before, and while I remembered the honey and the cherries it is brewed with, I did not remember how boozy (a whopping 11% ABV!) it is. My tongue went numb while I was drinking this. That is not a complaint, just an observation.

Lots of honey in the aroma, and sour and sweet cherries are very prominent on the tongue. I do not like sweet beers, and this could have fallen in that category, but there is a subtle spiciness that offsets the sweetness, and the funkiness from the Belgian yeast and the alcohol warmth helps in that regard as well. While this is a beer to savored on a long, dark, cold winter’s night, I enjoyed it immensely on a warm spring evening, 7.5/10.

Leave a Reply

