Brooklyn Black Ops

I’d make some ‘Black Ops’ crack about securing this bottle in a Mission Impossible style raid, complete with scuba diving, spelunking, skydiving, and jaywalking, but the truth is that GEB called me a few weeks before Christmas to say she was in a beer store and they had some Brooklyn Black Ops and should she get some for her Dad for Christmas and I shouted “YES! OH! GOD! FOR THE LOVE ALL THAT IS HOLY! GOD! YES!” She somehow got the impression that I was a tad excited that Black Ops had made it down to Texas so she grabbed me a bottle as well.

According to the label, this is a Russian Imperial Stout which was aged in bourbon barrels for several months. It was bottled flat and refermented in the bottle using champagne yeast. The vanilla and oak aroma from the bourbon barrel is immediately apparent. The aroma is almost overwhelming, but the flavors are surprisingly muted, with some chocolate and coffee as well. It has a light and crisp mouthfeel which I attribute to the champagne yeast refermentation. This has over 11% ABV but there is no alcohol burn at all. The Black Ops is what a Black Velvet should taste like. The only downside to this beer is that GEB did not get me more than one bottle, but  I am glad she got me the one, 9/10.

3 Responses to Brooklyn Black Ops

  1. Green-Eyed Brat says:

    Bravo! I’m thoroughly please switch this review as it mentions me and my superior gift giving talents.

    Speaking of my super secret beer store….they just released a collaboration Jesterking and Mikkeller…Beer Geek..???…oatmeal stout…?!? What says you?

    • seanrude says:

      Beer Geek Rodeo. I tried it at the Big Texas Beer Festival. I loved it but was totally pickled at that point, and anything I was handed at the Jester King station I would have raved about. It is a porter with smoked peppers. From what I recall the peppers were way in the background. Not sure if it is something you’d like, but your Dad probably would like it

  2. Green-Eyed Brat says:

    Eff my iPhone! I meant I’m thoroughly pleased with this review!!! I have no idea where the switch came into play!!!Ugh! Damn you Steve Jobs!!!

Leave a Reply

