Laughing Dog Rocket Dog Rye IPA, Part II: The Reawakening

The Old Nasty Rocket Dog Rye IPA BOO! HISS!

I recently reviewed Laughing Dog’s Rocket Dog Rye IPA,and told all of you how disappointing it was.  This was quite a let down for me as I am usually impressed with Laughing Dog’s brews, and am especially happy with their IPAs. In fact, I was so unhappy with the beer that I said in my review that it may have been a bad bottle, either old or improperly stored or both. Someone commented that he had recently tried the Rocket Dog and loved it, but that his bottle had  a different label, lending some credence to my suspicion that I had the misfortune to get a bad bottle.

The New and Improved Rocket Dog Rye IPA!

I was in Whole Foods recently and came across a bottle of Rocket Dog with an entirely different label than the one I had, so I gave it a go. Now this is more like it. It had the same rye and hops aroma as the first bottle had, but this time the flavor was fantastic, with some mango, pineapple and other tropical fruit flavors and some caramel from the malt, and a nice dry finish. I could have used some more rye upfront in the flavor, but that is a minor quibble. All is forgiven, Laughing Dog, you are back in my good graces, 7/10.

Leave a Reply

