Victory Summer Love Ale

Fireworks, thunderstorms, the legs on that girl who worked the register at Swensen’s, baseball on the radio, fireflies in a jar, Gator taking the mound, crappy jobs that I have come to love in my later years, the smell of freshly cut grass, early mornings in the caddy shack waiting for a loop, Doc taking the mound, perpetually skinned knees and elbows, taking the afternoon bus to NYC, seeing concerts on the Pier, falafels at Mamoud’s, root beer floats from the Magic Fountain, bumblebees, helmetless bike rides, the chirping cricket thermometer, pizza from the Magic Table, pick-up baseball games at Stagg Field, skateboarding down Gavin Road, Grunning’s, getting lost in Turtle Back Rock, honeysuckles in bloom, ice cold beer.

There are not many things I’d change about the summers of my youth, but I would replace the Olympia (or whatever swill I was drinking back then) with a beer as good as Victory’s Summer Love Ale. I am not normally a fan of German style beers, but this is exceptional. It pours crystal clear, with a tangy, slightly bitter aroma. It has a mild floral hops flavor, just enough to give it some bite, but subtle enough to not be overpowering. It is crisp, refreshing, with just a touch of lemon zest in there and at only 5.2% ABV, you can have a few to quench your thirst on a hot summer day. I hope this is available all summer, as I’d like to drink it in the dog days of August, 7/10. Maybe this will be my beer when Darvish takes the mound. I doubt he will have a debut season like Doc had, but stranger things have happened. Now if I can just find some decent pizza in Texas.

2 Responses to Victory Summer Love Ale

  1. bladdamasta says:

    Cracking review – loved it. I gave a confession to make, though. I follow the Indians, so wasn’t cheering for Yu but rather U. Still, liked the summer sentiments.

    • seanrude says:

      I am not rooting for the Rangers so much as I am hoping that Yu has the sort of season that Gooden had, and Guidry had a few years earlier, the sort of season where you tune in because you want to see a master at work

Leave a Reply

