Beach Blanket Bingo! Frankie and Key West Southernmost Wheat and Annette and Orange Blossom Pilsner!

Labor Day has come and gone, so I can no longer wear White Bucks nor drink Gin & Tonics, but the Autumnal Equinox has not yet arrived so I can still review summer beers. Hey, I don’t make these rules. If you have a problem, write to Emily Post.

To Have and Have Not

Florida is not exactly a hot bed of beer culture. There are precious few brewers. There are not even many beercentric bars, at least in the Fort Lauderdale area. Cigar City is Florida’s best known brewer, but my experience with them has been hit and miss. Despite this, I am always on the prowl for beers I have not tried, and I like to drink local when I can, so finding myself in Florida for an extended stay I have been exploring.

The Southernmost Wheat from Florida Beer Co. is a Belgian style witbier. It has a nice coriander aroma and flavor, with some musty funkiness from the yeast. The Florida ‘twist’ on this beer is the addition of key lime juice to the brewing process. The key lime juice introduces a nice tartness to the flavor, very muted, but it is there in the background, along with some mango flavors and some rich bread flavors from the wheat malt. I had some trepidation about this beer when I read about the key lime juice, but it was quite pleasant, as the acidity of the key lime juice helps to cut the sweetness, 6/10.

The Orange Blossom Pilsner is apparently brewed by Orange Blossom Pilsner LLC, a brewery so new they do not have a proper website yet. It is brewed with orange blossom honey, and the honey and orange aromas and flavors are prominent, with some floral hops as well. Unfortunately, there is not much else going on with this beer. It is a bit too sweet and fruity for my palate, so I will not be going back to it, 5/10, but it might serve as an introductory beer to someone who is unfamiliar with craft beer.

Well, I’m going down to Florida
Get some sand in my shoes
Or maybe California
Get some sand in my shoes

Leave a Reply

