Deviancy Defined Down: Oskar Blues Deviant Dale’s IPA

Meh on this one, a rare misstep from the usually excellent Oskar Blues. Oskar Blues Deviant Dale’s IPA pours a deep amber with a resinous and vegetal aroma. There are lots of hops, lots of sweet malts, and lots of alcohol, but there is no balance whatsoever. It just whomps you in the mouth, and there is something weird in the flavor that I have never experienced in a beer before, like a fermented vidalia onion, plus a soapy astringency which I have had before, sad to say. I finished it, but only just, 5/10.

Daniel Patrick Moynihan would not have liked this beer

5 Responses to Deviancy Defined Down: Oskar Blues Deviant Dale’s IPA

  1. bladdamasta says:

    Honesty in reviewing. A rare thing.

  2. Hag says:

    And speaking of resin….. have you tried Six Points from the hipster borough of Crooklyn? I suspect it will be a wooden nickel in your view, and I’m known for my aversion to things too hoppy to begin with. However, their brew called Resin is pretty damn good to my lousy palate.

    • seanrude says:

      I have not had it (or at least I don’t think so). Their beers are not available in Texas or Florida (where I am at the moment). They did not start canning their beers until after I had left the northeast. I did have several of their beers on tap back in NYC, and always enjoyed them, but that was before I started keeping track of what I was drinking in blog form.

Leave a Reply

