That Time of Year Again: I Don’t Like Pumpkin Beer and I Don’t Care Who Knows It

Ugh, I will never learn. I don’t like pumpkin beers that try to taste like a liquid pumpkin pie. I never have and I never will, yet every year someone tempts me with their pumpkin offering, and like the beer sucker that I am, I try it, and then throw my hands up in disgust and say “I don’t like pumpkin beers that try to taste like liquid pumpkin beer.”

This year it is Sam Adams with their Fat Jack Double Pumpkin Beer. Not just a single pumpkin, but DOUBLE pumpkin…what the hell was I thinking?

As soon as I opened this bottle, and got hit with that allspice and cinnamon and nutmeg and brown sugar aroma, I knew this was not going to end well for me. The flavor was similar to the aroma, just a bit more muddled. On the plus side, it was sort of bland and thin tasting for a beer with ‘double’ in the name, but that is about all I can say for it. Those of you who like pumpkin pie beers may like this, but for those who do not, stay away, 4.5/10.

I will be back next year, with another installment of The Pumpkin Beer Chronicles.

The label is sort of cool at least

4 Responses to That Time of Year Again: I Don’t Like Pumpkin Beer and I Don’t Care Who Knows It

  1. Stop wasting the pumpkin beers. I will drink them. LOL

  2. bladdamasta says:

    Fortunately, Halloween isn’t massive in Oz. It has started to grow in size, but it is mainly for the kids and the lollies. A couple of craft brewers will try a pumpkin beer, I reckon the most would be five. I’m with you – the few I’ve had don’t really work.

    • seanrude says:

      Funny thing is I thought I was the only one that I disliked these, but based on my emails and facebook replies, I am not alone at all. These seem to be universally disliked, yet they must sell, because every brewer, no matter how limited their brewing capacity, puts one of these out every year, and there is such hype over them.

      A friend compared them to Beaujolais Nouveau, another crappy drink which is just overhyped. I thought that was a good analogy

Leave a Reply

