Anchor Brews a Christmas Beer! Who Knew?

Hey! Did you guys know that Anchor brews a Christmas Beer each and every year? And that each year they tweak the recipe so that it is just a little bit different? You all knew that already?

Alright, I knew all of that too. I have sampled this beer for more than twenty years now (going back to a time when it was damn hard to find some years in some of the places in which I lived, although finding it no longer seems to be much of an issue), and other than one year when it tasted like candied yams mixed with fake pine cones, shitty tinsel and melted down plastic Santas, it is always at least a good, if not excellent, beer.

Some Christmas Traditions - gifts wrapped in red & green; colored lights; passing out drunk under the tree - should live forever

Some Christmas Traditions – gifts wrapped in red & green; colored lights; passing out drunk under the tree – should live forever

This year’s version is…truth be told, I lost my tasting notes, but I had it in a bottle and on tap and enjoyed both. I remember thinking ‘spicy’ and ‘warming’ so figure that this has some Christmas spice flavors in it, and a nice warming sensation from the alcohol. I do not recall thinking ‘fake pine cones’ nor ‘shitty tinsel’ nor ‘melted down Santas’ so figure there was nothing nasty about it. I recall thinking ‘7’ when I had the bottle and ‘8’ when I had it on tap, so let’s average that out to a 7.5/10 and call it a day. You know you are going to get some, so what are you waiting for?

2 Responses to Anchor Brews a Christmas Beer! Who Knew?

  1. bladdamasta says:

    Gidday

    I am enjoying the Christmas beer reviews. Like Pumpkin beer at Halloween, Aussie brewers are a little averse to the Christmas brew. Also, given that we are well and truly in the summer months, a “warming” is not the ticket. Preferably a refreshing, scullable beer is the go. That said, I’m off to my local on Wednesday for their Xmas party where they’re tapping a one-off Xmas saison.

    I owed you an answer. There is nothing particularly Yuletidish about rugby. No goodwill to men on a rugby field. It’s just played in the winter.

    Question for you. Have you heard of “crusty beer”?

  2. seanrude says:

    Had you spelled ‘crusty’ with a K I would have assumed it was beer endorsed by Herschel Krustofsky aka Krusty the Klown, but no, I am not familiar with the term.

Leave a Reply

